Meet Beatriz from Spain

Hi everyone! My name is Beatriz Cintas Cantarero, I was born and grown in a city on the south of Madrid (Spain). I am 24 years old, so still quite young and starting to build my professional life. I have studied Psychology and I am studying a master’s degree named International Solidarity Action and Social Inclusion at the moment, reason why I am doing my internship at Progestión. I still have a lot to learn and I am eager to start proving myself and gain some confidence as a professional.

I am especially interested in working with women and children in vulnerable situations. I would like to increase my knowledge about human trafficking and I am also planning to enrol a course on mental health in migration.

Besides all this, I want you to know that I am an active person always looking for new things to do, new people to meet, and new places to discover. ). I also love reading, cooking (or trying to cook), and dancing.


My dream is travelling around the world in a van owned and built by me (let’s see if I make that happen!

I hope to learn a lot from you all during the days that we are spending together. I will enjoy being surrounded by people who are dedicated to cooperation, sharing, changing and showing kindness to others. See you soon!

Meet Francesca from Italy

Hi everybody !

I’m Francesca, I’m an italian singer.  I arrived in Marseille 4 years ago for love and now I happily live here teaching music in the middle school, in the suburbs of the famous «quartiers nord». I like Marseille because I’m finally filled with new adventures, tunes and cultures: I discover all of this inside the wall of the school and this is a chance for my students and for me to exchange and grow up.

My school welcome kids from all over the world, frequently from Maghreb: I usually like to share music with them and the main language for the class, the french, is not always necessary for us! 


My school welcome kids from all over the world, frequently from Maghreb

I look forward to discover the project Can do Refugees and share good practices with other teachers, volunteers and professionals ! See u there 😉

Meet Anaïs from France

Hi ! 
My name is Anaïs, I’m french.
A few month ago I decided to settle in Marseille, in the South of France.
I had never been in Marseille before, but this city sounded great to me. Because of the mediterrean sea, the «Calanques», the smell of the pine trees and the nearby montains, of course.


By coming to Marseille, I was sure I would meet people from different countries.

But overall because of the diversity of its population. By coming to Marseille, I was sure I would meet people from different countries.
I’m working at Eurocircle for 5 months now. Through the «Service Civique», I try to help youngsters to have a great experience abroad, volunteering for social projects. Especially, I focus on helping youngsters in need, who are struggling with education, money or language. Some of them are or have been refugees.

. I’m really happy of being part of the project CAN DO REFUGEES !

I’m eager to share, to discover and to experience those few days !»

Meet Ronja from Germany

I am Ronja from Germany. Since more than nine months I’m living in the very east of Germany in a small city where xenophobia is unfortunately wide spreaded. I moved there because of the oportunity to work in a very special theatre centre that aims integration, called Thespis Zentrum. I’m a pegagogist for theatre and a german teacher and I love what I’m doing. I work with people with various backgrounds and needs. 

I’m really excited to get to know your perspectives and to exchange point of views. I am looking forward to meeting you all!

Meet Christos from Greece

I am Christos Alexopoulos and I have been working as a teacher, for the past seven years, in the Shelter for unaccompanied minors asylum seekers in Makrinitsa, for ARSIS, an Association for the Social Support of Youth, assisting them in difficulty or danger and in the advocacy of their rights.

Despite all kinds of differences, I believe we are all inherently alike and have similar needs.

Teaching young refugees a new language is equally a fascinating and challenging experience, as it is not only about the knowledge of that other language, but, also about cultural understanding.  I enjoy the fact that you have the possibility to influence other people’s lives, hopefully in a positive way, and every now and then make a slight difference.

It is very rewarding, when you get to witness gradual progress and changes, which create new opportunities and make their lives easier.

I am looking forward to sharing ideas and learning new practical learning strategies .

Hasta Luego!

Meet Amira from Germany

I am Amira, Romada- Kassaye, 57 years old. I am interpreter, pedagogue, mother tongue health mediator, biographic consultant, alimentation scientist and mother tongue consultant for parents. I attended courses to be an alternative practitioner, soon I will take the exam.

For me it’s important to change by doing, maintaining peace and attention.

Last but not least I want to share, that in my home country as a teenager I was political active against the former military, communistic regime. For me it’s important to change by doing, maintaining peace and attention.

My hobbies are swimming, hiking, teaching and cooking

Meet Linos from Greece

Hi, my name is Linos Vigklas and I am the director of the Second Chance School of Volos, Greece. Our school offers intensive lower secondary school courses to adults – immigrants and refugees among them –  who have not finished basic education and do not have the necessary qualifications and skills to adapt to modern vocational requirements.

Anyone aged over 18 who has dropped out of school is now able to complete its compulsory 9-year education and continue to the next educational level. As we follow an open and flexible curriculum, we have the opportunity to implement various projects and workshops in a local, national and European level. We have implemented and participated in many European projects (Grundtvig, Youth, Erasmus+ etc.), many of them focusing on the social inclusion of immigrants and refugees.

We have the opportunity to implement various projects and workshops in a local, national and European level.

Two years ago we organized an International food festival in Volos with the participation of people from 17 different countries. The event was a big success, it was included in the EAEA Grundtvig Award publication as a good practice and empowered and inspired us to continue our work with immigrants and refugees.

So, we are currently running a new year long project in partnership with the Department of Early Childhood Education of the University of Thessaly and NGO ARSIS – Association for the Social Support of Youth to respond to the refugees’ additional need both for social networking and for cultural and educational offers through a series of well-planned non-formal activities.

Meet Katrin from Germany

I am Katrin Kuhla from Germany, Bavaria (the Oktoberfest region).
In our project I am the consortium leader. That means that I coordinate the whole project and I am responsible for the money issues with our donor (the EU).

I am passionate about making projects. I am keen on taking responsibility for people, money and processes. Since many years I’ve been responsible for projects in the sector migration, integration and diversity. E.g. I was a project leader for a project fostering the interreligious dialogue in Germany, I worked for the German ministry for families being responsible for projects combating Antisemitism in Germany and I am working as an intercultural trainer since over ten years, especially in the social sector.

Peace is not just given. Humanity needs to be fought for.

I do this work because I am grateful to live in a society in which diversity is possible. Because I know from deep inside that peace is not just given. Humanity needs to be fought for. With other people and with yourself. Over and over again.

I am from a family which is strongly affected by the “Seven crazy years” in Germany (1938 – 1945). Facing the issues of migration, perpetrator and victim of that time is my inner motivation for my commitment now. With my family, including two little sons, I am living in the Fünfseenland, in the west of Munich.

I am looking forward to meeting you all and share an empowering process with you all!

Meet Marina from Greece

I am interested in fighting racism and discrimination, fostering intercultural awareness.

Hi! My name is Marina Mogli and I have been working with immigrants and refugees for many years. I have been a volunteer teaching them Greek for years and I have also worked in various research projects in the University of Thessaly which involved immigrants/refugees. I am interested in language teaching but also ways to help empower and better integrate immigrants/refugees in local communities and fight racism and discrimination, fostering intercultural awareness.

Meet Kostas from Greece

Kalimera,

I am Kostas Magos. Magos in Greek means wizard,  so be careful when you come to me… 😊   I work as an Assistant Professor in the Department of Early Childhood Education at the University of Thessaly in Greece on the field of intercultural education. My scientific interests include the theory and practice of intercultural education, the education of immigrant, minority and Roma children and the use of action research and narrative inquiry in school practices.

I like to write children books and I have already published some of them.

I am the Greek coordinator of this project and I have participated in many European projects concerning   best practices for the education of minority and immigrant children, European educational actions against racism and xenophobia and European teacher training seminars in intercultural education. When I have free time I like to walk, to travel and to read. Also, I like to write children books and I have already published some of them.